Skip to main content

NYSYR Announces 1st Round of Candidate Endorsements for 2023 Amid Primary Election Early Voting

By June 21, 2023News

ALBANY, NY — With New York’s early voting period for the June 27th primary election underway, the Association of New York State Young Republican Clubs (NYSYR) announced today its first round of endorsed candidates for the 2023 election cycle.  These endorsements are exclusive to candidates who are Young Republicans (those ages 18 to 40); however, it is worth noting that not all of them are in a primary contest. 

The NYSYR represents more than 50 county- and campus-based chapters comprising more than 2,500 registered members statewide.  They are a diverse coalition of professional operatives, public servants, elected officials, business leaders, young professionals, and students working to recruit, train, and elect a new generation of Republicans across New York. 

NYSYR is endorsing two dozen candidates in its first round of endorsements for the 2023 election cycle: 

Broome County

Nicholas Burlingame for Village Mayor (Endicott, NY)

Chemung County

Kevin Adams for Village Mayor (Horseheads, NY)

Delaware County 

Shawn Smith for District Attorney*

Dutchess County

Joseph Cavaccini for Town Supervisor (Wappingers Falls, NY)

Erie County

Jeffrey Piekarec for West Seneca Town Councilman

Stephan Monpremier for County Legislator (District 3)

Jefferson County

Sarah Compo Pierce for City Mayor (Watertown, NY) 

Kings County

Inna Vernikov for New York City Councilwoman (District 48)*

Niagara County

Joseph Marranca for North Tonawanda Common Council Alderman (Ward 3)

Oneida County

Michael Gentile for County Legislator (District 23)

Javon Pratt for Utica Common Councilman (Ward 2)

Onondaga County

Daniel Ciciarelli for Salina Town Board member (Ward 3)* 

Matthew Cushing for Salina Town Board member (Ward 2)*

Nicholas Paro for Town Supervisor (Salina, NY)*

Ontario County 

Kyle Brimm for Geneva City Councilman (Ward 6)*

Orange County 

Colin Schmitt for Town Supervisor (New Windsor, NY)

Joseph Betro for Chester Town Board member

Putnam County 

Robert Kearns for Carmel Town Board member

Queens County

Rusat Ramgopal for New York City Councilman (District 28)

Richmond County 

David Michael Carr for New York City Councilman (District 50)*

Saratoga County

Heather Brondi for Family Court Judge

Suffolk County

Anthony Piccirillo for County Legislator (District 8)*

Warren County

Emily McCabe McCarthy for County Clerk

Westchester County 

James Nolan for County Legislator (District 15)*

*denotes incumbent

“On behalf of the entire Association, I am incredibly proud to endorse these amazing young leaders in their candidacies for office,” said NYSYR Chairman Peter Giunta. “From Buffalo to Montauk, young New Yorkers in every corner of the state are finally waking up to the disaster that has been Democrat one-party rule.  Who better to advocate against that failed agenda than Young Republicans who have lived shared experiences?”
Giunta continued: “Last year, our candidates took on the political establishment to usher in a Young Republican Red Wave that ultimately secured the Republican House Majority in Washington.  In this local election year, we have once again been given an opportunity to buck the status quo and elect a new generation of Republican leaders into government.  The Association is committed to investing in each of these candidates so that we can begin to effectuate change from the bottom up.”